The Lord’s Prayer (Remix)

Mountains3Most Beloved,
In whom I live and move and breathe,
Your name is a blessing
In my ears.

I seek Your truth
So I may live in oneness
With You and all creation
For You are the source of everything I need.

Teach me how to accept forgiveness
By learning to forgive.
Turn my feet from harmful pathways.
Rescue me from danger.

You are the dawn that brings me light.
You are the wind that gives me flight.
You alone inspire
My grateful songs of praise.

Amen.



Author’s Note:
Lately I’ve been captured by the beauty of the Aramaic version of the Lord’s Prayer. So I decided to try composing my own English paraphrase, based on what I’ve learned about its meaning. I call it a remix because it draws its rhythms from a different source than good King Jimmy’s more familiar version.

Of course, other English translations of the Aramaic Lord’s Prayer have been done by actual Aramaic language scholars (which I most definitely am not). I certainly don’t pretend to have improved upon those interpretations. But after pondering what I learned, I felt a strong need to express this prayer in my own words and my own way. Still, I hope it transcends my own beliefs, or any religious viewpoint for that matter, and expresses the heart of anyone who embraces the reality of Divine Presence.


Related Posts:

4 responses to “The Lord’s Prayer (Remix)

  1. This is simply beautiful, Ken. Each word pierced the core of my heart, and caused my soul to experience the most brilliant smile ever. A very moving piece, my brother. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. Blessings.

    • Thanks, Deone, for those kind words. It means a lot to me that you resonated with it in that way. I intended it to be not only a gift to God, but also a blessing to others.

  2. I love your way of giving God the glory for your life! Here is my poem of the prayer:
    DISCIPLE’S PRAYER

    My Father Who art within me,
    Holy is every attribute of Your Being.
    From Your Power within,
    take control of every area of my life,
    that Your will be done through me.
    Let me partake of Your Life daily:
    That I may experience Your
    Longsuffering, Gentleness, and Goodness to forgive.
    That I may experience Your
    Faith, Meekness, and Self-control to overcome temptation.
    That I may experience Your
    Love, Joy and Peace that will deliver me in every
    trying circumstance.
    My body is Yours; I have no power of my own,
    do with it as you will
    for Your Glory.
    AMEN.

Hey, I love to get comments, so...

