The Age of Abundance

Okay. Actually that wasn’t the original title for this post.

My first thought for a title was to declare 2013 “The Year of Abundance”, since 2012 was such a rough year for our family. I wanted to proclaim the start of this new year as a turning point for us. But then I thought:

“Why just one year of abundance? Why not abundance for life?”

Made sense to me. So hence, the (new improved, and ridiculously ambitious) title.

Now, this is no mere “New Year’s Resolution”, mind you. Those things never worked for me. However well-intentioned the promise, somehow calling it a “New Year’s Resolution” seemed to doom it to certain failure. But this is no piddling little promise. No.

This is a whole new way of thinking and living; not out of my own sense of not-enough-ness and can’t-do-it-ness, but from a limitless abundance of Divine guidance and resources. That means I have to to stop making promises and start claiming them.

2013 is a wonderfully unique year in which to usher in a new “Age of Abundance”. The early snowfall here in Tennessee has officially confirmed that 12-21-12 was the beginning of winter – not the end of the world, as many predicted. In a weird way, I feel like humanity has been given a renewed lease on the planet. So now that we’ve dodged the Big One, I’m thinking maybe it’s time to start living as if we’ve been offered a gift, rather than handed a pink slip. I can’t speak for anyone else, but as for me, I now hereby declare that this is henceforth and evermore the “Age of Abundance”, and I intend to receive each moment with a deep sense of gratitude and anticipation.

My "Abundance Board"

My “Abundance Board”

So, in support of all these outlandish and grandiose declarations, I’ve started what I call my “Abundance Board”. Actually it’s a cork board that has hung above my writing desk for a few years. Whenever I had a short little thought or found a quote I thought would be helpful in my spiritual journey, I would write it on a piece of paper and tack it up there.

As you might imagine, the board became quite overrun with these little snippets. So I got this bright idea: I decided to remove all the sayings except for the ones that specifically dealt with abundance. That left 8 little slips of paper, randomly scattered over the surface. I pulled those down, rearranged them and tacked them back up, right down the middle of the board.

No doubt you’re wondering which 8 messages made the cut. Here they are, in the order they appear:

“I have the power to invite miracles.”

“If you’ve got to doubt something, doubt your limitations.” ~ (Rob Williams)

“There is no last piece of pie in God’s bakery.”

“Take what is yours.”

“Treating myself like a precious object will make me strong.” ~ (Julia Cameron)

“God is taking good care of everyone. I don’t have to.”

“Go play.” ~ (Aimee Dassele)

“Don’t worry about fitting in. Just be happy.” ~ (Dr. James S. Gordon)

A fantastic start for my “Abundance Board”, don’t cha think? I plan to add to it until it fills up like before. That way, I am constantly reminded of the abundance that is available to me in this very moment, and every moment still to come.

So welcome 2013. And 2014, 2015 and how many ever more years there may be. I’m looking forward to seeing how this new chapter unfolds.

Happy New Year, everyone.

And while we’re celebrating, how about Happy “Age of Abundance”, too?

Who’s with me? 🙂

6 responses to “The Age of Abundance

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Barbara. This is truly my intention, so I’m stating it here where everyone can see it, and where it will serve as a constant reminder for me.

      Happy New Year to you, too. 🙂

  1. I’d say that’s a great way of looking at it, Ken! Loved the post, my friend. The 8 messages you’ve shared here with us are powerful! Each one resonated with where I am in my life today. I used to be driven by trying to recreate a time that’s no longer the one I have now. It was frustrating to say the least. What I’ve come to know is that, right now, is all we have promised to us. If we focus more on it, using what was only as a learning tool, we will show up each time in our abundance. That’s not to mean that every day we will feel “abundant,” but we know deep within us that the process and plan has already been written out for us. We can then rejoice in knowing that the story does have a happy ending, no matter what it’s telling us at the present moment.

    Great read! Thanks for the sharpening. Blessings.

    • Thanks Deone. I always appreciate your insights. You’re right: “now” is what I have, and I’ll admit I’m not feeling “abundant” quite yet (more on that in a later post, perhaps). But I am learning to cultivate a deep sense of gratitude.

    • It’s not too late, my friend. We have a whole age in front of us. As you well know, so far it has not been quite what I expected. Like a kid with brand-new roller skates and freshly skinned knees, it’s been a learning experience for me. But I think these new wheels will get me there once I get my balance.

      And hey, I didn’t know you had a blog. I’ll check it out… 🙂

Hey, I love to get comments, so...

