Creative Bankruptcy

Because I have been crazy busy lately, and because it’s been almost a month since my last post, and because I can’t think of a single thing to write about, today I’m declaring creative bankruptcy. Mainly to let you faithful readers know that I haven’t been abducted by aliens.

Also, to those of you whose blogs I regularly read and comment on, please accept my apologies for not getting around to your excellent posts. I promise I’ll get back in the groove when the smoke clears…

In the meantime, I’ll direct you to a post I wrote about this time last year called “Soup Kitchen Agape”. The word “agape” here is not the English word that means “wide open” but is a Greek word (pronounced “uh-GAAH-pay”) meaning “love”. There’s supposed to be a hash mark over one of the letters, I’m just not sure which one. Maybe some of you Greek scholars can enlighten me.

Anyway, this word “agape” has been floating around Christian circles since the 1970’s when every self-respecting Jesus Freak knew all the cool New Testament Greek words like “Koinonia”, “Maranatha” and of course, “Agape”. Of the three, Agape managed to become mainstream and survived into the new millennium. If you still use Koinonia and Maranatha, you are a hopeless Jesus hippie, lost somewhere in the middle of Act II of Godspell. But I digress (as those of us in creative bankruptcy so often do)

The ancient Greeks, as the Sunday School lesson goes, had three words for love: one for friendship (Phileo), one for romance (Eros), and this Agape, the highest form of love, which of course, we have understood to be the kind of love God has for us. And because He has loved us in this way, we in turn are to show that same kind of love towards our fellow human beings. But in “Soup Kitchen Agape” I kind of turn that idea on it’s ear.

Why?

Well, it seems Agape has gotten a whitewashing over the years, and has come to mean this “I love everybody in the world” kind of thing. In other words, “I love people I don’t even know or even like or even care about”. Or more to the point, a love without relationship. A love without affection. A love of obligation. And I don’t think that’s the kind of love God wants to bestow upon anybody.

It’s all explained better in the post, so please have a read and maybe let me know what you think:
(Read “Soup Kitchen Agape”)

14 responses to “Creative Bankruptcy

  1. wow, thanks for the post on agape. when i first heard about it, my boyfriend convinced me that it referred to oral sex and i totally believed him.

    • Thanks for visiting, and for the unique perspective. I’ll have to say, I hadn’t heard that one before! 😉

      It seems the word “love”, in whatever language, has been terribly abused by people who are just looking to get something…

  2. I left the comment above without first exploring your blog. Let me apologize for its bad taste.

    I was looking for a play on the pronunciation a-gape, as in “mouth agape,” but I could have gone in a more wholesome direction with that.

    • Apology accepted and no harm done. I wasn’t sure whether it was a joke or not. I wouldn’t put it past some guys to try a line like that…

      Anyway, thanks for being considerate. If you want me to delete the comment I can, but I’m cool with it if you are.

    • You’re welcome, and thanks for reading the post anyway. I know it wasn’t exactly what you were looking for, but I hope you found something encouraging in it.

  3. Awesome as ever, Ken. I’ve had my moments of creative bankruptcy, where it would seem that a lot of nothing was coming forth. But, here I don’t particularly see where you were bankrupt at all, my friend. Here you dropped a lovely meaning to a word that usually goes misunderstood and also misrepresented. Joem18b, clearly made that known. 😀 I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, you are a true testament of who Our Father wants His children to be. Perfect? No. Real? Loving? Accepting? An example? Indeed. Thank you so much for being, Ken. 🙂

    • Thanks Deeone, for that gracious compliment. I appreciate the way you lift up everyone around you.

      It was interesting, I was blocked for two weeks, couldn’t think of anything to write about. But as soon as I wrote the words, “I’m declaring creative bankruptcy” and gave myself permission not to write, the words just started flowing. I guess there’s something to learn from this experience… 🙂

  4. You’re a very good writer. The Soup Kitchen post was very well written and explained. It’s so good to know that God is our friend and He ‘likes” us.

    Creative Bankruptcy – I know exactly what that’s like. We all experience it. :/

    • Thanks for the kind words, bluemustang5. “Soup Kitchen Agape” was inspired by parts of The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, which I was reading at the time. While I gave the post a humorous treatment, my paradigm shift from penitent offender to cherished friend was deeply emotional for me. It opened up my heart in ways I could never have imagined.

      And I guess good things can come from creative bankruptcy. With your comment and my reply, this post now ties with “Paint A Picture” for the blog’s most commented-on post. Go figure… 🙂